Red Queen Series: Book Review

Red Queen Series By Victoria Aveyard

This fantasy-adventure includes all that you could want in a great story: a complex protagonist, and unlikely antagonist, weaponised powers, secret plots, organisations and ‘love’. This book is a gripping page-turner filled with intriguing story arcs, twists and cliff-hangers – you won’t be able to put it down!

The Series Includes:

Cruel Crown (prequel)

Red Queen

Glass sword

King’s cage

War storm

The books follow Mare Barrow, in a world where those with silver blood have incredible powers and are apart of the aristocracy; whereas those who are red-blooded are suffering in poverty, without powers to protect themselves. The country has been at war for years with young red-blooded men being sent to die, while silvers indulge in their lavish lifestyles, taking part in banquets and competitions for the hand of the heir to the Kingdom of Norta, Cal. No wonder the rebellious Scarlet Guard arise to fight for equality.

As Mare finds out her best friend is about to be conscripted she plans to steal from a fortunate Silver, however things begin to go terribly wrong. After misfortune strikes the Barrow family once more, Mare turns to mindless theft and in a strange course of events, finds herself with a new job at the King’s residence. It is here, during Queenstrial, the competition for Cal’s hand, that Mare displays unseen power that she was completely unaware of. With powers that threaten the absolutism of the Silvers, Mare is forced to play apart in an elaborate cover up.

As feelings develop and the rebellion brews outside the walls, Mare becomes conflicted between who and what is right for the country and for her. With love, betrayal and incomparable power, will Mare Barrow chose her Silver power, or her Red blood, or both?

Loves this series? Try this book.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: Book Review

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

child levitating stiffly over a dirt path

This series is a spectacular mix of fantasy, mystery and adventure. Providing hope to children that they too could be peculiar in a world of fantastical wonders, this book must be on the must-read list. Riggs created this wondrous novel around a set of strange old photographs that he had collected and pieced together, much like the protagonist of this story, in order to discover something fascinating.

Image result for miss peregrine's home for peculiar children photos

The story follows Jacob Portman, an American boy, who was once intrigued by his grandfather’s unbelievable tales of peculiars and man-eating monsters. After beginning to doubt his grandfather as he has grown older Jacob can barely believe what he witnesses one night. Jacob discovers his grandfather attacked in the woods and something unearthly catches his eye. His grandfather’s last words lead Jacob to Wales to uncover the inexplicable and meet the some strange – or peculiar – people.

As all begins to make sense in the most bizarre ways Jacob discovers more about his grandfather, reality and himself. In this book, the meanings of power, loyalty and time travel are redefined as this story explores a world that could quite possibly exist but may be undiscovered.

Read this book series if you want to read about adventure, impossibilities, time travel and indulge your wonder.

If you liked this book, why not read this one?